Common Knowledge

I like solving problems. Beyond the exquisite multi-sensory joy of making things, I think that is why design appeals to me. The idea of leaving things unfinished or unresolved is very unsettling. This is especially true when you have other challenges on the backburner and more on the horizon. Could this perhaps be a symptom of what Alvin Toffler called future shock? Perhaps this sort of anxiety propels designers and planers into swift and efficient action. The question of, is that always preferable pops into my mind. The consequences for me are at times a stalling out. If I can’t resolve an issue I simply drop or hasten my pace. This is detrimental state when there are deadlines at stake. Is there a remedy for this condition? I find the counsel of other extremely useful. I know I’m far better at finding (re)solutions when I am not the only stakeholder.

The spirit of co-operation has always resonated with me. So much so that I have often envisioned myself working in a supportive collective environment which fosters creativity. I find the aspirations of participatory design which goes beyond the scope of mere peer-collaboration intriguing. Not only is there strength in numbers, but the idea of taking into account what the customer/consumer would prefer goes one step further.  Some problematic areas arise when co-designing with others. Even if our country was forged by the pick yourself up by your bootstraps ethos and fierce individualism, issues of (IP) Intellectual Property are obvious to most and not only Americans. Yet notably, the computer industries open source networking phenomenon which started in the 80’s has provided revolutionary consequences.

A general definition of ‘open source’ refers to a ‘product’ comprising source code, design documents and/or content that users have permission to use. Open source has a variety of expressions being applied to ‘products’ such as software (e.g. operating systems such as Linux; internet browser& such as Mozilla Firefox; content management systems such as Moodie for educational uses), hardware, games and, more recently, music, but it is also extended to embrace panicular expressions of democracy – open source content (e.g. Wikipedia the online encyclopedia), governance, government and politics.

Design Activism: Beautiful Strangeness for a Sustainable World

Creative Commons is perhaps more relevant to me and designers working on physical products. (CC) takes the next obvious leap toward non-code objects into the material realm.

Creative Commons ‘defines the spectrum of possibilities between full copyright all rights reserved – and the public domain – no rights reserved. Our licenses help you keep your copyright while inviting certain uses of your work- a “some rights reserved” copyright. ‘ Creative Commons, September 2008

As mentioned Lawrence Lessigs Free Culture: How Big Media Uses Technology and the Law to Lock Down Culture and Control Creativity, The Commons were much easier to appropriate at the turn of the 20th century. He points to one of the most notable and perhaps disturbing conditions of our judicial system, which is that financial resources/big business interests can and do win over what seems just and “conmen sense”.  I whole heartedly disagree with the premise of competition being an evolutionary condition necessary for survival. * Much like Lessigs points towards the acceptance on the part of the Japanese to allowing doujinshi artists to copy more “original” Manga comics I believe the sharing of ideas can lead to more creatively enriched and supportive societies.

It seems my generation (those born in the 70’s) , although born in a time when the  spirit of co-operation and sharing was in bloom might still be reticent to these concepts. I personally felt a little threatened as a designer when I first learned of participatory design as an undergraduate. What will happen to my control of the more enjoyable aspects of design? I don’t believe the role of the Industrial Designer will be simply parceled out piecemeal for the public to command. Yet, I do believe that a more integrated system of understanding customer needs will arise. A system which allows for a more informed  creative process.

Yes, given the nature of  the subject I primarily included links to YouTube and Wikipedia on my blog entry.

* I found Howard Rheingold’s Tedtalk on collaboration quite informative, relative to this subject, and inspiring.



Leave a comment